PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] partition issues on existing Windows 7 machine

rlinger
May 20th, 2010, 03:07 PM
I'm having a installation problem. I am trying to install Ubuntu on my laptop that is currently running Windows 7, and win7 is needed for use in projecting songs in our church services. The HD is a 500 gb already partitioned with the max. of 4 partitions. Win7 files are on the sda2 partition and my data files are on sda3. Sda1 and sda4 are smaller partitions, one is 3 gb's the other is 1 gb.

My question is, what is the best set up for me to install Ubuntu? I can't create an extended partition since I already have 4 partitions. I like my current partition set up as far as windows goes, but I would really like to get Ubuntu installed.

I'm fairly new with Ubuntu, I like what I've seen so far. I had it installed with wubi in windows XP on a laptop that I just sold, and I've upgraded to the windows 7 laptop now, and I'm stuck!

HELP!!!

Thanks,
Rob

darkod
May 20th, 2010, 03:16 PM
It all depends what you have on sda1 and sda4. If you created those partitions and just have some smaller files there, move them temporarily to external hdd or to sda3, delete the small partition, and that would allow you to create extended partition which can have: the small 1GB ntfs partition again, ubuntu root, ubuntu swap (and ubuntu separate /home if you plan on having one).

Win7 will have no problem reading the small 1GB ntfs as logical partition inside the extended. Usually just the win7 system partition has to be primary. Your data partitions can be logical.

But if sda1 and sda4 are some sort of system, or utility, or tools partitions, moving them on logical partition might not work.

Of course, even if moving works, you still have to shrink either sda2 or sda3 to make unallocated space for ubuntu. It's best to shrink from inside win7 using Disk Management, and then boot win7 few times so it can do its disk checks.

srs5694
May 20th, 2010, 03:34 PM