PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Error: no such partition ....... grub rescue> ???????

tahitiwibble
May 19th, 2010, 06:22 AM
The eternal newbie here again guys .......... so sorry to have to ask again for urgent help but ......

I have a newly acquired laptop with a nice dual boot system (W7 and 10.04) and it was all working fine 'til I got curious and wanted to see what the recovery partition looked like so when I got to the boot possibilities screen I chose something like "Vista loader", a few seconds later there was a window appearing with "ERROR" written in huge characters. So I rebooted the computer and got the message in the thread title.

I haven't got a clue what happened or how to fix it! Please can someone help me out?

Big thanks in advance.

Mustard
May 19th, 2010, 06:36 AM
At first glance it seems you have overwritten the Grub bootloader installed by Ubuntu. This is a pretty common issue for people new to Linux in general. If you were to search the forum for a HOW TO thread on 'restoring grub' or 'restoring grub with a live CD'. I'm certain you will find the latest step by step guide on how to restore your Grub bootloader.

To help you wade through the mass of threads on this subject here is a current version, so you don't end up looking at earlier ways of doing it.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2#Reinstalling GRUB 2 from LiveCD

You will note that there are a lot of lessons and instructions available at the above link. I would bookmark it, as its a great resource.

tahitiwibble
May 19th, 2010, 06:48 AM
Thanks a million Mustard. :) I'll plod throught the page you pointed me to and mark the thread "solved" when I've got it. Bookmarked immediately :)

srs5694
May 19th, 2010, 03:03 PM
To me the error sounds more like partition table troubles. After all, it says "no such partition" and the prompt is a GRUB prompt.