PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] opening a linux internet cafe

OneLine
May 15th, 2010, 11:30 AM
Hi, I am about to open an internet cafe and would like to use ubuntu, does anyone have any advice on how i should configure the machines or should i leave them with a stock install of ubuntu on.

Thank you.

webdebbyjoss
May 15th, 2010, 11:52 AM
Hi,

I have some experience using Ubuntu like that.

I suggest to use Ubuntu Netbook Remix's - netbook-lancher menu that allows to build the convenient list of software your clients will start and use.

mike555
May 15th, 2010, 12:22 PM
You will want to lock down certain things , " pessulus" will help ..

OneLine
May 15th, 2010, 01:12 PM
Hi, sorry if this is a dumb question, what would you expect from an internet cafe if you went to use one of their computers?, is firefox enough or would you expect other things from the operating system?

Thank You.

J V
May 15th, 2010, 01:23 PM
Firefox would be enough... There was a distro that reverted to a logo of the company when the browser was closed and started it up again when the screen was clicked... I think it isn't maintained any more.

"DiscoverStation" seems like a nice way to lower costs - it can run lots of users from different monitors, you can have half the cafe running from one box.

Zencafe also looks good...

I think the distro I mentioned must not be maintained any more...

cascade9
May 15th, 2010, 01:29 PM
Hi, sorry if this is a dumb question, what would you expect from an internet cafe if you went to use one of their computers?, is firefox enough or would you expect other things from the operating system?

Thank You.

There must also be a video player, or video/audio player (I'd go for VLC myself), some form of document viewer/writer (probably OO), a .pdf viewer and some form of CD burning capability IMO. Not that any of this is going to be hard.

I'd consider a .torrent client as well, but that could be more trouble than its worth.

OneLine
May 15th, 2010, 01:35 PM