PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Dual boot, vbox or c & d drives

flyfishingphil
May 15th, 2010, 11:28 AM
OK, tried going to bed but, just as I was falling asleep, I had a "brain spasm" about Ubuntu, etc., and had to get back up and see what I could find out. (Keep in mind I do a lot on the computer as a user but not in programming. I'm a bottom line novice in this area.)

I have a Toshiba Satellite 305 w/250GB hard drive. Currently doing dual boot with Vista and 10.04 Lucid. Have tried a bunch of different programs but have been unable to work with my Canon printer/scanner, my Magellan Explorist GPS, my Sony Ericsson W760i cell phone, or work with several programs using WINE. Tried VBox but it declared the XP I was working with as a ripped off version, despite it being from Micro, so problems there. This is where the "brain spasm" came in. Also, I don't have the cd of Vista because it came installed w/o the cd. I did make a set of "restore" cd's for the "just in case" use.

I did the torrent download of the 10.04 (using an upgrade thru Update Manager currently) so I have that available on cd. Haven't done the MD5SUM check on it yet and probably need to do that to make sure everything is there. Now, for the questions:

1. Would it be workable to do a format of the entire drive then divide it into 2 drives (c & d) then install Ubuntu, by itself on drive c and use the discs that I made and do a total restore of the Vista stuff on drive d? As I recall I should be able to bounce back and forth between the 2 drives, if needed, when I have to get something done with stuff that is only windows compatible, without the whole rebooting routine. Or does that just work for one OS or the other. Would it not work if bouncing from Ubuntu on drive C to Vista on drive D without rebooting?