PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] The War On Wireless, and other wacky misadventures

aqua mew
May 15th, 2010, 09:04 AM
Now, I'm very new to the world of Linux. I've got Ubuntu 10.04 dual-booting with Windows XP. Why am I dual-booting instead of running Ubuntu from the CD? Well, not that I didn't want to dual-boot anyway, but I didn't really have a choice. I already borked at least three CDs trying to burn the ISO, and the fourth did better, but I don't think everything's there that needs to be. "My Computer" seems to know it's there, and I can still bring up the menu that asks how I want to install it, but if I pick "Demo and full installation", and then reboot, nothing happens. So I had to "Install inside Windows". I don't even quite remember if I used the CD for that or the flash drive my dad let me use when he said the file was too big for a CD.

The other problem with this CD... I've been trying to find a way to make Ubuntu recognize my wireless adapter (WUSB54CG v3) so I can get on the internet. I can't download ndiswrapper with the terminal because, obviously, that requires an internet connection. So I downloaded it on Windows and saved it to my own flash drive. Then I found this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=574501 It looked like what I was looking for... but guess what? Ubuntu doesn't want to recognize the CD! Is there a way to make the other flash drive work like the CD is supposed to here?

Oh, and to complicate things even further... from what I've gotten from my searches, apparently things are easier if you can connect wired. But I can't; my dad doesn't want to go through the trouble, and he's the only one who knows how to do anything with the router more than just unplugging and replugging, and that's why I need an adapter in the first place.

sasaenator
May 15th, 2010, 09:29 AM