PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] partition to install 10.04 on netbook

JamieWrites
May 15th, 2010, 06:17 AM
Hi,

I'm totally new to Ubuntu so please bear with me.

I've got an Asus 1001P with Windows XP that I'm trying to install Lucid Lynx onto via a USB. It's totally new so I don't need to keep anything.

So far so good, but now I've reached the Prepare Disk Space and it's got me completely confused - and none of the other threads that deal with similar issues have been any use whatsoever, mostly because they seem to refer to other tools/options/settings that don't appear on my screen.

My first question: should I try an older version that has (from what I can see) a more user-friendly (or idiot-friendly) set of options for this part of the install? Or does the netbook version have modifications that make this easier - and should I try that instead?

Alternatively, can I get some straightforward, thorough (and preferably step-by-step) instructions on what to do to get 10.04 installed?

Right now it's giving me two choices: wipe Windows completely and only run 10.04 or specify partitions manually - which I've looked at but which doesn't seem to give me the options that other posters have suggested - i.e the partition with Ubuntu isn't specified, it doesn't seem to allow me the option of creating any new partitions unless I select the 'new partition table'.

Here's what the 'prepare partitions' page looks like:

Device.....Type.....Mount Point...Format?..Size.....Used
/dev/sda
../dev/sda1.ntfs..................................... 85904MB 8271MB
../dev/sda2 ntfs..................................... 66739MB 3221MB
../dev/sda3 fat32..................................... 7345MB 5113MB
../dev/sda4.............................................. . 49MB unknown

Do specific instructions exist anywhere?

Ozymandias_117
May 15th, 2010, 06:30 AM
Device.....Type.....Mount Point...Format?..Size.....Used
/dev/sda