View Full Version : finding installed software

May 15th, 2010, 04:06 AM
I installed the pdf2djvu program. How do I find it and use it. How is code entered in the machine? I just loaded ubuntu 10.04 onto my acer notebook and everything is running just fine. I have no experience with this os compared to microsoft. Thanks in advance.

May 15th, 2010, 04:18 AM
How do I find and operate this program? I loaded it from "get software". I have just loaded 10.04 onto my acer notebook. All is well and everything is running fine. I have zero experience with UBUNTU but way too much with Microsoft. Where do I start to convert a pdf to a djvu document? How do I input code into the machine? Thanks in advance!

May 15th, 2010, 04:21 AM
If it has a gui, it should (most do) add itself to the menu. Check Application->Accessories or Application->Office. If it doesn't provide a gui front end, it may be command line only. Try invoking it by name from a shell.

ranch hand
May 15th, 2010, 04:23 AM
I am not familiar with that program but it should be listed in your Applications>Office menu if it is a program with a gui.

If not open your terminal Applications>Accessories>Terminal and;

should pull it up.

If it is just a reader the default works just fine, Just click on the file or the link and it will be up and running.

May 15th, 2010, 04:43 AM
OK Where and how do I enter this code? I found terminal but I have no experience with code.

May 15th, 2010, 04:48 AM
To find information on how to use the program, type in at the terminal prompt

man pdf2djvu

You can type 'q' to quit the manual page.

The man page will also detail the command line options and syntax for starting the program, assuming this program has a documented man page.

May 15th, 2010, 04:52 AM
It's not in Applications -> Office or perhaps Applications -> Graphics?

May 15th, 2010, 05:54 AM