PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Should I partition manually when I install?

thomas144
May 15th, 2010, 01:28 AM
Hi there,
I'm thinking about installing Ubuntu 10.04. I've used the Live CD and USB and I am satisfied with it. I would say my knowledge of Ubuntu is intermediate, but I put this question in Absolute Beginner talk because I feel that this is a fairly beginner question. When I install, I'm not sure if I should trust Ubuntu to automatically partition my hard drive, or to manually divide my hard drive. What happens if I resize my Windows partition inside Windows, leaving empty space, and install Ubuntu to it? How will the installer create new partitions for Ubuntu? Will I have the right amount of swap space? I have 3 GB of RAM, and a 250 GB hard drive with Windows 7. It currently has 3 partitions.

Please help, as a little info will go a long way.

ubunterooster
May 15th, 2010, 01:35 AM
I recommend manual. I've done both but usually the "resize" works fine.

thomas144
May 15th, 2010, 01:42 AM
Thanks. Do you know how things are partitioned when done automatically?

ubunterooster
May 15th, 2010, 01:44 AM
Just a little I'll start partitoning one so i can give screen shots.

Tholley
May 15th, 2010, 01:47 AM
I would recommend manually... give me a minute and I'll post some good instructions on how.

thomas144
May 15th, 2010, 01:48 AM
So you're about to install Ubuntu on a computer by manually partitioning the hard drive?

Tholley
May 15th, 2010, 01:54 AM
I'm assuming you want to dual boot with Windows, so here is how...

boot up your Live CD then go into the install.

when you get to the partitioning section:

1. select manual editing of partitions
2. you will see two partitions that are Ubuntu
3. select the ext3 or ext4 partition (whichever format was used)
4. click "edit partition"
5. select "Ext3" from where it says "do not use this partition" (its a drop down menu) and select the format option
6. select "/" from the mounting drop down menu.
7. click ok.