PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Scripts and where to put them...

ve1drg
May 14th, 2010, 01:50 PM
I am new at using Ubuntu and know nothing about writing scripts..

I want to write a script to bring up a telnet function. And if I can ever find out how to write such a script I have no idea where to put it. I think it goes in /etc/init.d subdirectory and once there you run 'update-rc.d'.

If any of that is correct does this update-rc.d process create the rc5.d files? Or whereever they go?

When I run update-rc.d I think I have to include the name of the script and its defaults? What are the defaults?

So - what do I have to put in a telnet or ftp etc.. script. I need an example.
And do I put this script in etc/init.d s/dir?
And what are the defaults that I add to the 'update-rc.d' line?

Geeeez... I hope this is clear.

slackthumbz
May 14th, 2010, 01:53 PM
Could you be more precise about exactly what you want these scripts to do? Please explain your goal in pedantic detail. It's much easier to help that way :)

ve1drg
May 14th, 2010, 02:25 PM
Could you be more precise about exactly what you want these scripts to do? Please explain your goal in pedantic detail. It's much easier to help that way :)

Well I am not sure what pedantic detail is. But simply I want to write a script so I will have a certain function. Like something for ftp, or telnet etc. etc..
What does one of these scripts look like? Can I see an example somewhere. Perhaps I just have to look at those files in /etc/init.d s/dir??
And when I do create such a script - do I just put them in that /etc/init.d s/dir and run 'update-rc.d' using a name and some default figures..(whatever that is..)

I can repeat all this but I have no other way how to say what I need.
Simply put - I want to write a script to get a particular function to work and I need to know where to put it, and what are the defaults I need to add to the update-rc.d line.?

HermanAB
May 14th, 2010, 03:16 PM