PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Newbie asks: What are the limitations of pendrive install?

NUboon2Age
May 14th, 2010, 05:55 AM
Total newbie question:
I'm trying to play with Ubuntu 10.4 on a pendrive before installing it on a hard disk, but have been running into difficulties with getting a driver to work. But to ask a question even more basic than that, are there any limitations to a pendrive install that I should be aware of, or does it work just as if I'd installed it to a (small) hard drive. Obviously space is a limit, but for instance if I successfully use synaptic to install a package, should I be surprised if I reboot and don't see it there on the menu as it was before? Also I don't see my browsing history in firefox. Is there something funky about a pendrive install to cause this?

When trying to straighten out the driver problem I did an apt-get and config sequence where I ran out of room and some dpkg operations were interrupted... is this the likely culprit or is it something about a pendrive itself???

Paqman
May 14th, 2010, 05:58 AM
How did you install? Did you run the normal Ubuntu installer and just install to the USB stick like you would to a hard drive? Or did you use the USB Startup Disk Creator? Or Unetbootin?

NUboon2Age
May 14th, 2010, 06:02 AM
I used USB Startup Disk Creator. I also have Unetbootin available. Thank you for your help!

Paqman
May 14th, 2010, 06:18 AM
Well, if you elected to devote some space on the drive for persistence, then you can install software and store files on there. If you didn't devote some space to persistence, then you've basically got a LiveCD, every time you reboot it will reset itself.

NUboon2Age
May 14th, 2010, 06:27 AM