PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] my laptop won't work at Starbucks

cetacean
May 14th, 2010, 04:52 AM
I have posted at least a dozen questions here, and elsewhere, about getting a wireless signal on my clean new Acer/AMD/Atheros laptop, in various ways, under various user names.

I can boot into Windows and connect via ethernet or wireless, no problem at all, and via ethernet under Ubuntu - but try to connect wirelessly - dead meat.

Quite a few people on this forum have been wonderfully helpful to give me numerous methodologies to fix this - all failed. I have downloaded and installed loads of crap, done Madwifi, I run update manager, sudo apt-get update, Synaptic - pure nada.

I am a newbie here with decades of Microsoft experience. I really like like the Ubuntu concept and just about everything I have tried has worked - sometimes immediately - sometimes after several convoluted iterations.

I have to admit, I don't really "get it" yet, but this seems to be a gaping chasm that a whole lot of users have fallen into.

"lspci" reports that this situation involves an Atheros AR928X wireless network adapter although other sources name slightly different flavors of hardware.

This is obviously a massively widespread problem since there have been dozens of posts every day with "wireless" and "10.04" in the subject line since April 29.

I am serious about migrating from Windows to Ubuntu but this kind of stumbling block is close to a deal-killer.

Realistically, what can I expect to happen in the near future?

ronlayt
May 14th, 2010, 05:08 AM
I'm in the same boat as Cetacean. What can we do to fix this? Don't let this miniscule problem make me give up on using UBUNTU. I hate Microsoft and thats the reason I went toUBUNTU after much discussion with many users. HELP!!!:confused:

Ozymandias_117
May 14th, 2010, 05:13 AM