PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] After upgrade to 10.04 flash not working

Kiwisaft
May 7th, 2010, 06:34 PM
Hey,

Since I upgraded to Ubuntu 10.04. I am not able to watch youtube videos anymore, it says " You need to upgrade your Adobe Flash Player to watch this video". Then there is a link to adobe. But when I download and install it says "Package 'adobe-flashplugin' is already installed". So I tried to remove and reinstall - no change. Then I tried to remove and install flashplayer-nonfree - no change.
Tried it with firefox and seamonkey.

Hoping for ideas...

Kiwisaft
May 7th, 2010, 06:46 PM
Additional info:

- When I test it on http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/welcome/ it says "You have version 10,0,45,2 installed"

- I have a 32Bit System

- Tried both flashplugin-nonfree and adobe-flashplugin (APT for Ubuntu 9.04+)

driebel
May 7th, 2010, 07:35 PM
I had some painful flash issues too. I posted a thread on the absolute beginner's forum yesterday (just search for my user name over there) and a user named 'carlee' provided me with a flash installer she wrote that fixed everything.

Kiwisaft
May 8th, 2010, 09:18 AM
You mean this one: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1475441 ? Unfortunately I think we have different problems. It installs correctly but I still have problems with using it.

I read through so many posts but nobody seems to have the same problem :/ please help!

slice16
May 8th, 2010, 09:24 AM
Hi Kiwisaft,

Have you tried re-installing flash from the 'Ubuntu Software Centre'?

You can two options, the Adobe Flash Plugin (under search) or the offical flash plugin under Canonical Partners.

Regards,

Kiwisaft
May 8th, 2010, 09:32 AM
ah now sth did the trick: rm ~/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so

Before I tried all different kinds of removing and reinstalling packages from different sources.

thanks

andy16666
June 14th, 2010, 02:30 AM