PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 8.04 on new HP DL120G6

Tribl
May 6th, 2010, 08:09 AM
Hello Forum

We are about to get a new Asterisk telephone system which only runs on Ubuntu 8.04 (dont ask me why).
So i need a new Server and found a HP DL120 G6.
How do i find out if ubuntu 8.04 works on that server and has all the necessary drivers for it, cause I'm kind of a complete noob with Linux.
The HP Support couldnt help me because they dont support Ubuntu officially

Please help me

Thank You

Tribl

windependence
May 6th, 2010, 08:32 AM
I don't think you'll have any problems with the HP box as I have loaded it on similar hardware. Did Asterisk recommend any particular hardware? 8.04 is pretty forgiving.

-Tim

Tribl
May 6th, 2010, 09:26 AM
Not that i know of. The guy that handles this matter for us, recommended a Dell D200 simply because he has the same Asterisk on that machine running without any problems. So i guess there is no special hardware that is needed but since the Dell Server is "older" its better supportet by Ubuntu, i think

Problem is we have HP Servers only and my boss wants it to stay this way

spynappels
May 6th, 2010, 10:40 AM
You'll have no problems.

Is that an Intel or AMD box? I have run Asterisk on ML110G5 and ML115G5 (Intel and AMD resp), both on Ubuntu and CentOS (AsteriskNOW) and have had no problems. Install seems to take longer on Intel box for some reason, but is fine in the end.

ghost_ryder35
May 6th, 2010, 12:01 PM
Not that i know of. The guy that handles this matter for us, recommended a Dell D200 simply because he has the same Asterisk on that machine running without any problems. So i guess there is no special hardware that is needed but since the Dell Server is "older" its better supportet by Ubuntu, i think

Problem is we have HP Servers only and my boss wants it to stay this way