PDA

View Full Version : New Build



Swagman
May 5th, 2010, 01:37 PM
After getting dodgy RAM issues this past couple of days I've decided to bite the bullet and order in some new bits.

The old build consists of...


MSI K8 platinum Mobo
Athlon 64 XP 3500 (single core)
4 x 512 Corsair DDR2


I'd just ordered a 1TB HD to install Lucid 64 on (Which arrives sometime today) but after having to remove a stick of RAM this morning to get the ol gel to boot I ordered the following.



AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 965 Black Edition 3.40GHz (Socket AM3) - Retail 1 127.65
Corsair 4GB (2X2GB) DDR3 PC3-10666C9 1333MHz Dual Channel Kit (CMV4GX3M2A1333C9) 1 84.25
Asus M4A87TD Evo AMD 870 (Socket AM3) PCI-Express DDR3 Motherboard 1 79.14
Sub Total: 291.04
DPD Next Day Parcel Shipping: 9.00
Total Vat: 52.51
Total inc Vat: 352.55


I will carry on using my XFX alphadog 8800GTX graphics card until I can afford nice shiny new !! ( or win THIS (http://forums.aria.co.uk/showthread.php?t=19941) )

I haven't researched whether 10:04 will work on this stuff without issues so here's hoping !!

(Fingers & Toes crossed)

KegHead
May 5th, 2010, 02:45 PM
Hi!

I built an Atom 330 based desktop.

Runs flawlessly on 10.04.

KegHead

cascade9
May 5th, 2010, 02:53 PM
Those parts should work fine.



I will carry on using my XFX alphadog 8800GTX graphics card until I can afford nice shiny new !! ( or win THIS (http://forums.aria.co.uk/showthread.php?t=19941) )


Win that GTX470?...sell it and buy a nicer card. :|

Yes, yes, I know....but I'm REALLY unimpressed with the GTX470/480. Power consumption is sky high, they run as hot as a flamethrower in a tropical country, and IMO nVidia is at least 'bending' power consumption figures.

CharlesA
May 5th, 2010, 04:00 PM
Win that GTX470?...sell it and buy a nicer card. :|

Yes, yes, I know....but I'm REALLY unimpressed with the GTX470/480. Power consumption is sky high, they run as hot as a flamethrower in a tropical country, and IMO nVidia is at least 'bending' power consumption figures.

I feel the same way, which is why I haven't bothered "upgrading" from my GTX 260. Who needs a space heater when you have a Fermi? :lolflag:

Swagman
May 8th, 2010, 04:07 PM
Crap sound.

Seriously crap

Way under volume even if you overdrive it & the sound is like you have the treble turned down to minus 5 (if you could)

cascade9
May 8th, 2010, 04:32 PM
Crap sound.

Seriously crap

Way under volume even if you overdrive it & the sound is like you have the treble turned down to minus 5 (if you could)

I wonder if that is the VIA VT1818 sound chip, or the 'ASUS noise filter' making the sound awful? :|

rhinert
May 23rd, 2010, 02:19 PM
Crap sound.

Seriously crap

Way under volume even if you overdrive it & the sound is like you have the treble turned down to minus 5 (if you could)



I have the M4A87TD too. Can't get any sound output. Doing research now and getting ready to try windows to see how it handles the hardware.

Disappointing.

Swagman
June 8th, 2010, 03:53 PM
I have the M4A87TD too. Can't get any sound output. Doing research now and getting ready to try windows to see how it handles the hardware.

Disappointing.

Well.. I have just received the Xonar DX2 soundcard I purchased yesterday and after installation ...

It's sh|t

Sorry for the language.. The only other apt description is far worse.


The sound on my old MSI Platinum K8 was infinitely superior and that was using onboard sound.

Guess I'll have to either buy another MSI board or try gigabyte.

Never Asus again.

Swagman
June 10th, 2010, 03:56 PM
Got the sound working properly from my new Xonar DX2

re: What annoyed me today thread (http://forums.ebuyer.com/showpost.php?p=1070186&postcount=5839)


Solved.

After updating the BIOS and still having ZERO joy I had one last... Plug & Pray swapping sound outputs around. This also failed.

So I went out to the Garage where I found an old SB Live! that was sitting on top of the garage comp (read earlier where I tested out the Logitech speakers with it).

Spy the SB Live (http://www.upload3r.com/serve/100610/1276180437.jpg)

Then switched off and decided to remove Xonar DX2 and try re-inserting. i really didn't hold much faith. After re-inserting it looks exactly the same as in THIS (http://www.upload3r.com/serve/090610/1276099272.jpg) Pic taken earlier.

Switch on and... I don't frakkin believe it.. Success.. Not just sucess but Awesome success.

Check out pic... The sound level is really Banging even at that low setting.

Banging Donk (http://www.upload3r.com/serve/100610/1276180768.jpg)

So the Sb Live can go back to collecting dust & Spiders in the garage.

Apologies to Asus.. I guess I wont be winning any Asus goodies though !!