PDA

View Full Version : 94% of 10.04 install = frustration

trevs.bronco
May 4th, 2010, 05:31 AM
Ok, I have wasted two days of my life now trying to install 10.04 I would gladly install windows or any operating system right now if I could, but nothing will install. Best I can do is get to 94% and then CRASH! tried a bunch of stuff a bunch of times and end up with a machine that would be more useful as a door stop. I really would appreciate some help from someone who knows something as I am a noob comparatively and am only guessing at what might be wrong as my searches have turned up nothing helpful, mostly info about dual booting which I am not doing.

Trev

robert shearer
May 4th, 2010, 05:41 AM
94% is about the point that grub(bootloader) installs so probably something there.

However, apart from that (which has several google hits ) you have given no information at all.
How about some so we can troubleshoot.??

Like, hardware- make, model graphics card, ram, how many and what type of hard drives.
Does 10.04 boot to the live desktop on cd ?.
(if so we can suggest some commands that will get most of the needed info)

trevs.bronco
May 4th, 2010, 02:33 PM
Ok, the hardware:
asus m2n vm dvi motherboard
newly installed geforce 210 video card
500 g seagate barracuda HD had a second 1.5T drive, but removed it.
2g of unknown ram
5400 processor @ 2.7

There was a long standing working system on this machine, I decided to upgrade the video card and OS at the same time which work out except that the ALSA in 10.04 does not support audio through hdmi on my card so that is when IU tried to upgrade alsa and ended up with a crass during the process that has left my machine unusable.

Trev

ivikas
May 4th, 2010, 02:43 PM
Hello ALL,