PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] For new users, a Quick Tutorial on how to Get some needed utilities.

Nick.Sth
May 2nd, 2010, 02:00 AM
Hi, I've been using Ubuntu for 2-3 months, I'm no expert. But I want to share with the rest of you, what troubles I had, and how I resolved them. When I started I wanted a program to convert files, something to install Windows programs, etc. I'll explain to you now how to get some of those things.

How To Download YouTube Videos with Terminal.
First, download required software by typing in:

sudo apt-get install youtube-dl And you're done. To download just type in

youtube-dl video_urlHow To Convert Files Through Terminal.
First, download required software by typing:

sudo apt-get install ffmpeg Turning images to a cideo sequence

ffmpeg -f image2 -i image%d.jpg video.mpg Then All you need is codes.
To Convert FLV to MPG:

ffmpeg -i old-file.flv new-file.mpg To Convert FLV to Mp3

mplayer -dumpaudio old-file.flv -dumpfile new-file.mp3 To Convert Mp4 to Mp3

ffmpeg -i video.mp4 -vn -ac 1 audio1.mp3How to install Wine
Extremely simple. Just go to -> Applicatons > Ubuntu Software centre and type in wine.
If that doesn't suit you, open terminal and type the following.

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install wine
sudo apt-get install winesetuptk
winesetuptk or $ winesetup or winesetup
Program To Download Songs Easily
Just install by typing in terminal:

apt-get install nicotineSimple File Sharing Program /
Just install by typing in terminal:

sudo apt-get install gtk-gnutella

I hope this helps you in any way, best of wishes, Nick.

3rdalbum
May 2nd, 2010, 02:41 AM
Rather than use "Youtube-dl", you can usually find the video file in the /tmp directory after the video has completely buffered, but before you surf to another page or close the browser.

madjr
May 2nd, 2010, 03:29 AM