PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] webpages in external hard drive

blakep2
April 30th, 2010, 03:48 AM
I am trying to use my external hard drive to store webpages and on the webpages it is uploaded to the folder. When i navigate to the address it says it is forbidden. On another note I also noticed that it would not let me upload files from the browser in a page located on the actual disk it says i do not have permission. Can someone help me get passed the barriers. The hard drive is ntfs.

Kellemora
May 1st, 2010, 06:55 PM
Hi Blake

I'm a TOTAL NOOB, but, I think I'm already doing what you are trying to do!

I have an external hard drive that I use as a file server, or more actually data storage, instead of on the computers themselves.

One of these file folder directories are my web page stuff, which includes some php and javascript lessons I'm working on.

FWIW: I've also had this problem with RSYNC trying to do backups and the workaround works for it too......

Step ONE is to MOUNT your external harddrive, it will appear on your desktop.

Open your web folder and jot down the PATH it will probably be something like /home/user/desktop/externaldrive/webfolder/

Step TWO open a terminal, open gedit and work your way back to the root /var/www directory.
Once here you can type
sudo ln -s /home/user/desktop/externaldrive/webfolder/
then hit enter.
This will create a symlink from /var/www TO the folder on your desktop which is your MOUNTED external hard drive.

If you reboot, you will have to MOUNT the external hard drive again, unless you have it set to automount at bootup.

Hope this helps!

TTUL
Gary

blakep2
May 2nd, 2010, 02:12 AM
Hi Blake

I'm a TOTAL NOOB, but, I think I'm already doing what you are trying to do!

I have an external hard drive that I use as a file server, or more actually data storage, instead of on the computers themselves.

One of these file folder directories are my web page stuff, which includes some php and javascript lessons I'm working on.