PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help? Can't access WD external hard drive

Kelci
April 29th, 2010, 11:17 PM
I'm completely new to Linux, much less Ubuntu, so explain all your answers as if I'm dumb, please.

I have a WD SmartWare external hard drive that has all my files backed up from when my Windows Vista crashed. When I plug it in to my USB port, it pops up on my desktop, but when I go to open it, it just opens to a window that has pictures of how to plug in the external hard drive. This doesn't help at all.

This is strange because when I plug in my flash drive, it's accessed immediately and I can see my files. But when I plug in my WD external hard drive, it gives me unhelpful pictures and not the files I want. I want to solve this problem WITHOUT re-formatting the external hard drive, because I don't want to lose any of the files on it.

Could someone help me figure out how to access my stuff?

P4man
April 29th, 2010, 11:29 PM
seems like the WD smartware comes with a special firmware that makes it act like a CD (containing those pointless images).

It can be worked around though. Can you open a terminal (applications > accessories > terminal) and type in the following command:

sudo fdisk -l

(that is SUDO FDISK -L in lower case)

And copy paste the output here?

Then do the same with this command:

sudo blkid

Kelci
April 30th, 2010, 08:35 PM
seems like the WD smartware comes with a special firmware that makes it act like a CD (containing those pointless images).

It can be worked around though. Can you open a terminal (applications > accessories > terminal) and type in the following command:

sudo fdisk -l(that is SUDO FDISK -L in lower case)

And copy paste the output here?

Then do the same with this command:

sudo blkid

Ok, Here's what I got when I typed "sudo fdisk -1":

[sudo] password for kelci:

Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes