View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem relating to Bug #1

April 29th, 2010, 05:11 PM
The Bug in question. (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/1)

So, I have, after climbing the IT Hierarchy for the past 5 years, ended up as Network administrator for my company. About 3 years ago, I started playing with Ubuntu, merely as a hobby at first. Now, there isn't a computer I own without it. I then took the next logical leap, servers. With the permission of our CIO, began investigating the use of Ubuntu within my corporation.

Thanks to likewise, myself and a like-minded webadmin now use Ubuntu Desktops at work. However, I'm looking to the future, Linux on every desktop and every server.

But first I need to break Microsoft's stranglehold on my server room. What I'm looking for is clean upgrade paths away from Microsoft products. Things that can be dropped in with as little downtime as possible. So, here's my situation:

The network is a mish-mash of mostly XP, some Windows 7 and 2k, with a few legacy NT machines here and there. We have close to 200 users + machines internally with about 20 remote users. We have 12 Windows Servers, which are Server 2003 R2, save for one 2k server soon to be phased out. We currently have 4 Ubuntu servers mixed in with them, two web servers, a file server, and a Nagios server.

Domain Controllers:
We have two Server 2003 AD Domain controllers. These, I believe should be the first to go. I've been eyeing 389 Directory server (http://directory.fedoraproject.org/) as a replacement, though this is not set in stone. The ability to replicate over the Accounts and information is definitely a plus. A gui of some form is also important. However, my big problem then becomes my windows clients. I've heard that samba can be used for this, but I'm sceptical about security and stability.