PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No sound in Ubuntu 10.04 RC

anomajaya
April 29th, 2010, 11:03 AM
Hi,

I'm very new to Linux. I installed Ubuntu 10.04 RC in HP Compaq CQ62-111TU ( C=Intel Core i5 430m + 4GB DDR III + Intel HD audio) It works fine except for no sound from 2 speakers. But I can listen to sounds through head phone jack. External mic is also working fine but internal mic do not. I went through a one of the threads in this forum on sound problems but it didn't resolve my problem. Some of the information regarding my heardware generated with the Terminal are given below.

noma@anoma-laptop:~$ aplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: HDA Generic [HDA Generic]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 3: INTEL HDMI [INTEL HDMI]

anoma@anoma-laptop:~$ lspci -v

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 05)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 1425
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 22
Memory at d4400000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: <access denied>
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel

( When boot with win 7 it shows that there are two audio drivers 1.) Intel HD audio
2.) Realtek audio )

Can any one help me to get my laptop's sound properly?

Looking for an early reply,

Thanks,

proxess
April 29th, 2010, 11:04 AM
Change the volume directly with alsamixer or sudo alsamixer. Worked for my USB headset.

anomajaya
April 29th, 2010, 11:17 AM
Volume is already increased to Max using Alsa mixer. But still not working..!!

simon_w
April 29th, 2010, 03:51 PM
I'm having the same problem with the same HDA device :(

I notice that 10.04RC is using alsa 1.0.21 (cat /proc/asound/version), and that the final release should have 1.0.22 (http://packages.ubuntu.com/lucid/alsa-base) so I'll try that tomorrow before I investigate further.

:(:(

lidex