PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] LAPTOP ATI 4650 Xorg High CPU usage

Troca
April 28th, 2010, 12:29 AM
HI i am very new to ubuntu Experienced windows user but like i said extremely new to ubuntu. I tried to get in to ubuntu 2 years ago but had so much problems with my wifi card and memory card reader on my laptop that i gave up.

Now i have a new laptop and want to get back in to the game. I think mt ATI card is whats causing my Xorg Cpu usage to go from 20-50% when scrolling in firefox and moving windows about. If i drag a windows left to right fast i can get 80% cpu usage out of xorg.

I have googled for a week now tried different things unofficial drivers with no compiz effects and offical drivers with and without compiz all the same result. I was using 9.10 version of ubuntu but im now on the 10.04 beta verson due to i thought that might have been fixed i am going back to 9.10 tomorrow and im using 64bit version but have also tried 32bit makes no differens.

I have found that i can edit Xorg.conf in X11 folder i have tried some different options none have helped so far.

So if anyone can help me i would be very greatefull atm i am getting kinda putt off by ubuntu and linux due to all these hard to find out problems.

PS Remeber i am extremely new to linux so dont use expert explanations due to i would prob not know what you are talking about.

I have an ATI 4650 mobile radeon card in a VGN-FW51ZF Sony Vaio Laptop

specs here if that helps you

http://www.sony.co.uk/product/vn-fw-series/vgn-fw51zf-h

Troca
April 28th, 2010, 08:14 AM
bump

khelben1979
April 28th, 2010, 09:03 PM
Have you tried with ATi drivers (http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx) directly from the ATi homepage?

I would not recommend it though if you don't carefully follow all their installation instructions. As a newbie you definitely want working graphics, so proceed with caution if you do.

Troca
April 28th, 2010, 09:38 PM