PDA

View Full Version : Qt GUI Development of Opensource Project

stefanadelbert
April 26th, 2010, 11:43 PM
I have recently had some experience with Qt (4.6.2) and would like to do some development work on a opensource project that uses Qt. Is there a definitive list of projects that have a Qt frontend somewhere?

Siph0n
April 27th, 2010, 03:12 AM
I just started learning qt4 (with python) this past week. I created a date calculator here : http://code.google.com/p/date-calculator/ . You are welcome to work on that if you like. Or even if you don't, please give me some comments and suggestions, as i'm sure my code could use improvement. Thanks !

Bachstelze
April 27th, 2010, 06:56 AM
Kubuntu is in dire need of contributors, and obviously uses Qt a lot. That would probably be a good place to start.

stefanadelbert
April 27th, 2010, 07:18 AM
I just started learning qt4 (with python) this past week. I created a date calculator here : http://code.google.com/p/date-calculator/ . You are welcome to work on that if you like. Or even if you don't, please give me some comments and suggestions, as i'm sure my code could use improvement. Thanks !

I'm afraid I haven't spent much time with Python, so I'm not going to be much help there re. comments and suggestions. I've had a brief look at your code though. MVC is an extremely powerful concept and you might consider it, i.e. breaking the underlying logic out of the GUI code and putting it into classes.