PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Atheros NIC not coming up at capacity



t-readyroc
April 20th, 2010, 08:22 PM
Just rebuilt my file/print server using an ECS 945GCD-M Atom motherboard. Running it under 9.10 (2.6.31-20) using the same cable and port on my Netgear switch that my old server connected to at 1GB/s without issue (old server's NIC was Intel-based).

Did some forum searching. Found the driver is an AR813x, & downloaded & installed the latest driver from here (http://partner.atheros.com/Drivers.aspx) (1.0.1.9). sudo lshw -C network now shows that it's using the new driver, but still sitting at 100MB/s:


*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: Attansic Technology Corp.
vendor: Attansic Technology Corp.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: c0
serial: 00:25:11:c4:fa:d4
size: 100MB/s
capacity: 1GB/s
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress vpd bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=ATL1C driverversion=1.0.1.9 duplex=full firmware=L1e ip=192.168.0.2 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100MB/s
resources: irq:25 memory:febc0000-febfffff ioport:ec00(size=128)
/etc/init.d/networking restart does the following:

* Reconfiguring network interfaces...
Ignoring unknown interface eth0=eth0.
...done.
ifconfig output:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:25:11:c4:fa:d4
inet addr:192.168.0.2 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::225:11ff:fec4:fad4/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:168 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:182 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:10
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:21670 (21.6 KB) TX bytes:23807 (23.8 KB)
Interrupt:25

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:189 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:189 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:20934 (20.9 KB) TX bytes:20934 (20.9 KB)/etc/network/interfaces :

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
I can't seem to get it to come up at the full 1GB/s. I also tried ethtool -s eth0 speed 1000 without success. Also, any idea why networking restart ignores eth0? Any help would be appreciated.

t-readyroc
April 21st, 2010, 03:43 AM
It was the dang Netgear (GS605). I unplugged & plugged the dang cable back in & it came up @ 1GB/s just fine :rolleyes: