PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trying to run Win7 in VirtualBox



BigAnjoe
April 20th, 2010, 03:16 AM
I really need to get Windows running in VirtualBox so I can use iTunes for my non-jailbroken iPod Touch.
I previously installed Windows 7 [x64] from a burned disc onto my laptop.
As I ran VirtualBox, I tried to use the same disc and it didn't work.
It said something about not being compatible with a x64 bit version.

Do I need to try an x86 version of Windows?
If possible, an .iso link would be great [if allowed].

I am still new to Ubuntu [9.10] but am thoroughly enjoying it.

Thanks for the help.

rooler
April 20th, 2010, 05:26 AM
This article is more beneficial to all.Iím going to assume youíve already downloaded the ISO and gotten your installation key and burned the ISO to a disk. With VirtualBox you donít necessarily need to burn the disk, and in fact the steps Iím going to go through here just mounts the ISO to make it available as a disk to the virtual machine.I think it is the famous article in all. Every person please visit this site and read this article. It will be provide lot of helpful and interesting things for us.

Dayofswords
April 20th, 2010, 05:30 AM
is the ubuntu your running 64-bit? if not, your going to need 32-bit windows

to rooler:
what article?
huh?
(you sound spambot-y)

BigAnjoe
April 21st, 2010, 04:16 AM
So I need to run a 32-bit version?
I've tried the 64-bit version I had previous to Ubuntu and it didn't work.
I just recently tried an 86-bit version, it seemed to be going fine, then everything just shut off.
I'll try to install the 32-bit version soon.

Also, does it need to be burned to a disc?
I selected the option to just use the .iso itself.

lazymangaka
April 21st, 2010, 05:37 AM
lol @ Ford Tempo parts. I smell a spambot.

wilee-nilee
April 21st, 2010, 05:37 AM
So I need to run a 32-bit version?
I've tried the 64-bit version I had previous to Ubuntu and it didn't work.
I just recently tried an 86-bit version, it seemed to be going fine, then everything just shut off.
I'll try to install the 32-bit version soon.

Also, does it need to be burned to a disc?
I selected the option to just use the .iso itself.

Use the ISO for virtual.