PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Tomcat 6 + Python CGI

danandjan
April 14th, 2010, 03:54 PM
Hello, I used to run a Tomcat 6 server on a winxp machine at home so that I could learn Java and Python CGI scripting. I will eventually run Apache, but I just don't have the time right now since I am now trying to learn linux/Ubuntu.
Anyways, I made a very simple web survey application using Python CGI scripting on that winxp machine with Tomcat 6 server and that survey application's been working fine with no problems. Well my winxp machine over-heated and took a dump. So I bought a used laptop and installed Ubuntu 9.10 to give Linux a try. So I am completely new to Linux.

I then installed Tomcat 6 to my new Ubuntu machine, ported my Python web survey code over. Everything seemed to work ok after some headaches (found out I couldn't run Tomcat server on port 80 unless I was root user, etc.), except for some reason, in my main survey Python script, Python's urllib.urlopen() method doesn't seem to
work right on my Ubuntu machine. However, the exact same code ran fine on my winxp machine.

Here's the code that I am referring to that doesn't appear to work right on the Ubuntu machine:

page = urllib.urlopen('http://myhomeIP/python/www/HasVoted.html').read()
print page

This code suppose to just forward a client to a HTML page and display the contents of that HTML page ("HasVoted.html"). But for some reason, on the client's browser, all they see is a blank page. I right-mouse clicked and view the source on that page. What it showed is
just a empty HTML page, so apparently "something" wasn't parsed right or perhaps nothing at all.

This is what the view source option showed from the client's browser:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML><HEAD>
<META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=windows-1252"></HEAD>
<BODY></BODY></HTML>

So pretty much, it is indicating that nothing was sent back for some reason.