PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How do I install network manager after removing it?

Kygoski
April 9th, 2010, 04:36 AM
I made the mistake of downloading "kwlan", and now I want my original Network Manager back. Uninstalling kwlan left me with no Internet connection of any sort, but I downloaded networkmanager 0.8.tar.bz2 using the NetworkManager from the disk. How do I get my network manager back? Also, please be as detailed as possible? I'm a newbie at ubuntu. My ubuntu version is 9.10 if if helps, (that koala version).Help please? :(

You cAn personally email mr if needed at Kygoskiskyblue@hotmail.com

garvinrick4
April 9th, 2010, 04:43 AM
I made the mistake of downloading "kwlan", and now I want my original Network Manager back. Uninstalling kwlan left me with no Internet connection of any sort, but I downloaded networkmanager 0.8.tar.bz2 using the NetworkManager from the disk. How do I get my network manager back? Also, please be as detailed as possible? I'm a newbie at ubuntu. My ubuntu version is 9.10 if if helps, (that koala version).Help please? :(

You cAn personally email mr if needed at Kygoskiskyblue@hotmail.com
sudo apt-get install network-manager-gnome

Kygoski
April 9th, 2010, 11:13 AM
Thanks for your timely reply :) it almost worked, except for it says that it was unable to fetch some archives, maybe run apt-get update or try with. Is this because my laptop is not connected to the Internet?

_BugsBunny_
April 9th, 2010, 11:46 AM
Yes, it's because you're not connected to the Internet. You can try to get an internet connection going manually. Easiest would be to setup (temporarily) a wired connection, but you can get a wireless connection going as well by using iwconfig. You'll probably need to edit /etc/network/interfaces and temporarily add interfaces that are normally configured by network manager.