PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Password not displayed , accepted

Focused100
April 3rd, 2010, 02:50 PM
Hello,
I'm a Linux newbie
I installed Ubuntu server 9.10 with the mail server option without any problems. However when I tried to login the username was accepted and displayed but the password could not be entered. No matter what I did the password space remained blank and I could not login. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

new_tolinux
April 3rd, 2010, 03:01 PM
In terminal or text-login it's default that Ubuntu doesn't display the password.

You should just type it, and press return after that. Normally that would be the way to login.

ajgreeny
April 3rd, 2010, 05:00 PM
If you typed it wrong, it would quickly tell you; try it out on purpose to see what I mean, so the system does see what you type, it's just that you can't see it.

Focused100
April 3rd, 2010, 05:08 PM
Thank you both for your quick replies.
Unfortunately, your suggestion did not work.

The password cursor doesn't even move from the prompt when I type it and I'm still not able to login.

I tried reinstalling without a password but it would not let me.
Any other suggestions?

koenn
April 3rd, 2010, 05:18 PM
you have to hit the Enter key after you type the password

KB1JWQ
April 4th, 2010, 02:44 AM
You using a GUI, or is this strictly at login in the CLI?

Focused100
April 4th, 2010, 04:38 AM
Text Login for the 1st time.

KB1JWQ
April 4th, 2010, 05:02 AM
Be sure you're not trying to log in as root.

Focused100
April 7th, 2010, 05:08 PM
Is there a way to login without user and pass?

sisco311
April 7th, 2010, 05:17 PM
As new_tolinux already pointed it out, your password is being accepted in the terminal. You just aren't getting any visual feedback. Go ahead and type your password and hit Enter afterwards. If you typed your password correctly, there should be no problems.

http://psychocats.net/ubuntu/passwordinterminal