PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Config samba to a second hard drive?



twin-08
April 2nd, 2010, 09:47 PM
Hey guys, I switch to linux 9.10 and I got webmin installed, I was hoping to set up samba so it would share my second hard drive over the network. Is there anyway I could share the second drive?

Here is my fdisk info.


Disk /dev/sda: 40.0 GB, 40037760000 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4867 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000d8cfa

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 4836 38845138+ 8e Linux LVM
/dev/sda2 4837 4867 249007+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 4837 4867 248976 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1240341 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x79789ada

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 3 1240339 625129472 7 HPFS/NTFS


The 640gb hard drive is on a sata raid card, 40gb is an ide drive.

Thanks guys for the help.

Edit, Can you find out the ip of the server via commands not like this ip 192.168.XXX.X

jfmanamtr
April 2nd, 2010, 09:52 PM
I am not sure if you can share a drive like you would in Windows. You can however mount that hard drive to a folder under the root filesystem (sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /pathof/folder). Then using samba share that folder to the rest of your network.

~John

twin-08
April 2nd, 2010, 10:00 PM
Ye, I need to share the drive, just hope someone helps me.

As I want to use linux on it rather than windows server 08

jfmanamtr
April 2nd, 2010, 10:27 PM
You share the drive by mounting it to a folder on the root file system (sudo mount OPTIONS /dev/sdb1 /path/to/share) & then using samba to share that particular folder. By sharing the folder where you mount a drive you are sharing the drive.

~John

Edit:

This link (https://help.ubuntu.com/9.10/serverguide/C/samba-fileserver.html) will show you how to share a specific folder. Then all you need to do mount the hard drive to the folder you are sharing & that will give you access to the files accross the network. when you do the mount, you will need to use "-t ntfs" to specify the filesystem. I think you can also mount the drive under Webmin, but I think that any data on it will be whiped when you do that. Hope that helps!

~John

twin-08
April 2nd, 2010, 11:42 PM
Got this working all I did was change the path to /media/harddrive name

It worked, w00t.

Thanks all who tried to help.