PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Few noob questions xD

twin-08
April 2nd, 2010, 03:59 PM
Hey guys I have a home server which was running windows server 08.

I downloaded ubuntu server 10.04 which I think is great quite fast, however I have a few nooby questions to ask you.

If I install a GUI, is there anyway of removing it again with out having to format and set up again?

I have an raid card with a sata 640gb hard drive as my primary drive is IDE, I was using this as a file storage server using samba, but I don't know what path the harddrive is as I changed it in windows and forgot what it is, is there a way of finding out the path? When I was installing it it was /dev/sdb so would this be the path?.

Thanks, Twin sorry if these are long questions, however I am a noob to an linux server ;D

cdenley
April 2nd, 2010, 04:35 PM
1. Yes, you can. You can always add/remove packages as much as you wish, and all of ubuntu is just a collection of packages.

To add the default gnome packages:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

This installs the meta-package ubuntu-desktop, which because of dependencies, will result in all packages for a default desktop configuration being installed as well.

To remove it, you can remove the meta-package, then remove all packages which were installed as a dependency for another package which has since been removed:

sudo apt-get remove ubuntu-desktop
sudo apt-get autoremove

Or you can also go the "tasksel" route to add/remove common configurations:

sudo tasksel

2. I'm assuming this is hardware raid? A typical path for a disk would be /dev/sdb. Partitions on the disk would then be /dev/sdb1 /dev/sdb2, etc. The paths are created in order, so if you have a /dev/sdb, then you also have a /dev/sda. You can list all disks (and their partitions) with this command:

sudo fdisk -l

twin-08
April 2nd, 2010, 04:59 PM
Great thanks. Another noob question, when I try to install webmin 1.510, I get this error.