PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] broadcom bc4312 wifi card: at wits' end! help please!



cerberez
March 31st, 2010, 04:51 PM
So I'm trying out Lucid on my hp mini 1030nr. Seems great... EXCEPT wireless stubbornly refuses to work for me. Thankfully, I've got ethernet, but that won't work when I take my beloved netbook out into the world.



2.6.32-18-generic i686
01:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)I've tried apt-get install sudo apt-get install bcmwl-kernel-source

I've tried just going into system>admin>hardware drivers and activating the sta driver

I've installing the drivers from hp website in wine and using ndisgtk to use the .inf file

I've tried b43-fwcutter

between all of these things, of course, I've updated the system with update manager and sudo apt-get update, and rebooted dozens of times.

This is particularly infuriating, because I've had wireless on this computer before (ndiswrapper worked on UNR 9.1, until it died a horrible death)... if I really can't get wifi on lucid I'll try going back to that, but I would rather not.

Can anyone help me?

thanks *so* much, I'm going crazy here.

cerberez
March 31st, 2010, 05:11 PM
In case it helps:


ezra@ezra-netbook:~$ sudo lshw -C network
*-network UNCLAIMED
description: Network controller
product: BCM4312 802.11b/g
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
version: 01
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=0
resources: memory:feafc000-feafffff
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
vendor: Marvell Technology Group Ltd.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: 00
serial: 00:00:00:00:00:00
size: 100MB/s
capacity: 100MB/s
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=sky2 driverversion=1.25 duplex=full firmware=N/A ip=192.168.1.72 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100MB/s
resources: irq:26 memory:febfc000-febfffff ioport:ec00(size=256)



ezra@ezra-netbook:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet addr:192.168.1.72 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::224:81ff:fe48:f823/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:13517 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5996 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:6685311 (6.6 MB) TX bytes:1038473 (1.0 MB)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:480 (480.0 B) TX bytes:480 (480.0 B)

98cwitr
March 31st, 2010, 06:10 PM
have you tried going to Administration->Hardware Drivers to see if it's there?

If not, do


sudo apt-get install cabextract

Download .exe from HP's site then run cabexract for the .exe in terminal
sudo cabextract driver.exe, you should find the correct .inf in the extracted files, load that one into ndiswrapper and you should be good after a reboot. Post your ifconfig again after you've done this.

theozzlives
March 31st, 2010, 06:14 PM
4312 should work out of the box.

98cwitr
March 31st, 2010, 06:15 PM
^^^nope, had the same issue with a coworker's laptop yesterday as a matter of fact with a BC43** driver. Had to manually install using ndiswrapper and cabextract :(

chicken159
March 31st, 2010, 06:20 PM
Yeah...it should, and it did - but was a bit slow and kept stalling on a new install on my mini10v. So I tried changing drivers...and now neither work despite several reloads.

Any suggestions as to how to work out what the issue is here? Can't see any effect of hitting the infamous F2 button.

98cwitr
March 31st, 2010, 06:21 PM
under lucid and that kernel man your guess is as good as mine...i'd like to know too.

cerberez
March 31st, 2010, 08:37 PM
have you tried going to Administration->Hardware Drivers to see if it's there?

If not, do


sudo apt-get install cabextractDownload .exe from HP's site then run cabexract for the .exe in terminal
sudo cabextract driver.exe, you should find the correct .inf in the extracted files, load that one into ndiswrapper and you should be good after a reboot. Post your ifconfig again after you've done this.

No luck. Didn't work :(


ezra@ezra-netbook:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet6 addr: fe80::224:81ff:fe48:f823/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:62 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:31 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:5888 (5.8 KB) TX bytes:4999 (4.9 KB)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:480 (480.0 B) TX bytes:480 (480.0 B)

cerberez
March 31st, 2010, 09:19 PM
No luck. Didn't work :(

I just installed 9.1 and, trying this, I get the error "unable to see if hardware is present." But where the driver shows up in the menu, it says "hardware present: yes."

It still doesn't work. Why is it so hard?

What's going on?

thanks!

cerberez
March 31st, 2010, 09:37 PM
I just installed 9.1 and, trying this, I get the error "unable to see if hardware is present." But where the driver shows up in the menu, it says "hardware present: yes."

It still doesn't work. Why is it so hard?

What's going on?

thanks!

WOW! It finally works! after seeing it not even work on 9.1 (yikes!) I decided to give sudo apt-get install bcmwl-kernel-source another try (after an apt-get update). Another reboot and it works. Is it possible that there's something in Lucid that was screwing with my internet?

Anyway, I'm going to be cautiously optimistic. I couldn't connect to the networks in my building, but I can't connect even on my xp notebook. I'm connected now through my phones wifi-tethering, which sets up like a wifi hotspot (and to think, vzw wants to charge 15 a month to let you do that on the pre). I'll report back when I've been somewhere with reliable wifi to check it out, but I think my problem might be fixed.