PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't get wireless to work



viniciuscarvalho
March 30th, 2010, 10:29 PM
Hello there! I'm XBMC Live 9.10 which is built on top of ubuntu 9.10.

I have a desktop PC with an realtek wifi card. The card is working, as I tested it on windows.

I tried to follow this guide https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/WiFiHowTo but could not connect to my WIFI network.

Here's some info:

lspci:

01:06.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8185 IEEE 802.11a/b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 20)

ifconfig:


eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:24:8c:c1:10:fb
inet addr:192.168.1.100 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::224:8cff:fec1:10fb/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:208 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:145 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:40513 (40.5 KB) TX bytes:20042 (20.0 KB)
Interrupt:27 Base address:0x4000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:600 (600.0 B) TX bytes:600 (600.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:06:4f:6a:b4:20
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-06-4F-6A-B4-20-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP RUNNING MTU:0 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

iwconfig:


xbmc@XBMCLive:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"ROUTERM"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.447 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


/etc/network/interfaces


# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wireless-essid ROUTERM
wireless-key ########
wireless-channel 8
wireless-mode managed



Well, I can't find why my wifi is not working. it seems that my card is configured (from the iwconfig command) but it can not connect to my Router.

The router is using basic WEP key.

Any ideas?

I did not try switching of security of the router, but I really would not like to.

Regards

chili555
March 30th, 2010, 10:35 PM
Is Network Manager installed in XMBC? It wants to control your network and is difficult to overcome. How many characters are in your WEP key? Ten or 26?

viniciuscarvalho
March 30th, 2010, 10:38 PM
My wep is 10 chars.

XBMC does not uses Gnome. It does not have networkmanager installed. I guess I could install it, but I'm just affraid to mess things up (since it is configured to run on other display manager)

Regards

chili555
March 30th, 2010, 11:03 PM
I wasn't suggesting that you install it; I was just trying to see if we had to fight and overcome it.

You computer will not be happy with two IP addresses, at least not without some serious fiddling under the hood. Please detach the ethernet cable and do:
sudo ifdown eth0
sudo dhclient wlan0The 'auto' declaration in /etc/network/interfaces tells the system you want to start both interfaces automatically on boot. Once we troubleshoot the wireless, let's clean up interfaces.

Post the outcome and we'll see what happens.

viniciuscarvalho
April 10th, 2010, 04:38 PM
Thanks for the help. Removing the WEP from the access point I was able to connect. I know filter the clients by MAC address. WEP is really break that I don't bother not having it on.

Regards