PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dell XPS M1530

Ben Ward
March 28th, 2010, 08:07 PM
Hi all I've just installed Ubuntu on my Dell XPS M1530 and aimed to use it along side of buiding a new PC unit that works with Ubuntu or Ubuntu[Sci] because I'm a Biology Student and want to use it for things like 'R' and other programs and maybe learn to do a bit of programming as one of my tutors is interested in putting together a toolbox of applications for studentrs and I'm getting an interest in this area and want to help him out. I'm gonna stress now, yes I'm a newb and my only experience has been with windows up until now. Anyway I've installed it using a live Cd and the wireless will not work, and I've tried and tried and I've been through godknows how many forum pages and installed and troubleshooted ndiswrapper on this very forum and still no luck. I'm completely at my wits end and not too far away from canning the whole thing before I've even begun because if I cant connect to the internet there is no point at all, so any help at all is greatly appreciated, I have read around and googled god knows how many times but all I get is jargon or solutions which don't work. Thanks.

bloodorange
March 28th, 2010, 08:22 PM
I've got a Dell XPS M1530 and the wireless works without a problem.

Which version of Ubuntu have you installed?

Ben Ward
March 28th, 2010, 08:24 PM
I downloaded the latest Karmic Koala version, I only just got it on thrusday.

bloodorange
March 28th, 2010, 08:26 PM
Mmmm. That should work. When you click on the Network Manager icon (near the date and time at left of the top panel), what do you see?

Ben Ward
March 28th, 2010, 08:34 PM
I hover my mouse over and it says no connection, and when I click on it it gives me a little drop down saying Wired Network (Disconnected) and then VPN Connections.

bloodorange
March 28th, 2010, 08:40 PM
Have you still got Windows installed and, if so, does wireless work OK on that?