PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Please help me

Freddyg1912345
March 28th, 2010, 01:14 AM
So, I have been going through the forums a little bit and i cant find a solution to my problem. I recently installed Ubuntu 9.10 onto my Dell laptop, its an older model, not really sure what the exact name is; but anyway, when I logged on, there was not wireless connection, and after fumbling through some on-line tutorials, I feel I have gotten no farther. Does anyone know of a simple guide just to get me connected to the wireless connection (i believe mine is Ethernet)?? I don't think I have any trouble finding a wireless card or whatever, I am just really new to Ubuntu and I don't know where to start... any help would be good,

Thanks

bkratz
March 28th, 2010, 01:18 AM
So, I have been going through the forums a little bit and i cant find a solution to my problem. I recently installed Ubuntu 9.10 onto my Dell laptop, its an older model, not really sure what the exact name is; but anyway, when I logged on, there was not wireless connection, and after fumbling through some on-line tutorials, I feel I have gotten no farther. Does anyone know of a simple guide just to get me connected to the wireless connection (i believe mine is Ethernet)?? I don't think I have any trouble finding a wireless card or whatever, I am just really new to Ubuntu and I don't know where to start... any help would be good,

Thanks

A good start would be to go to the terminal (Applications>>Accessories>>Terminal) and enter the following

lspci | grep Network

Copy/paste the output back here or simply report it back.

( that is a lowercase L in the beginning of that command not a 1)

Freddyg1912345
March 28th, 2010, 06:39 PM
A good start would be to go to the terminal (Applications>>Accessories>>Terminal) and enter the following

lspci | grep NetworkCopy/paste the output back here or simply report it back.

( that is a lowercase L in the beginning of that command not a 1)