PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Monitor website bandwidth used



huggy77
March 27th, 2010, 07:24 PM
Not even sure if i am using the correct terminology... I am hosting some websites and i want to monitor who is using more resources from a thoughput standpoint... Would this be bandwidth monitoring.

Please point me in the right direction as to what i can use to monitor these sites...

I am using an uptodate version of apache2 and a single ip vhost setup.

Thanks in advance.

inphektion
March 27th, 2010, 08:50 PM
you can pretty easily setup awstats. I did and it gives you all stats from sites and bandwidth too.

dudumomo
March 27th, 2010, 08:54 PM
Very interesting thread !!
I was looking for something like that.
I've tried cacti, but I don't really know how to set this up. (Too many features ;))

n0dix
March 27th, 2010, 09:10 PM
Perhaps nethogs can help you.

$ sudo apt-get install nethogs

dudumomo
March 28th, 2010, 12:25 AM
nethogs is very light and easy, but is it possible to get a historical graph ? It doesn't seem to..

n0dix
March 28th, 2010, 12:30 AM
nethogs is very light and easy, but is it possible to get a historical graph ? It doesn't seem to..

Not it isn't , sorry for the suggestion. :(

joshwaaa
March 28th, 2010, 12:38 AM
Hi,

I have found webalizer to be good http://www.mrunix.net/webalizer/sample/index.html

cheers,

Joshwaaa

dudumomo
March 28th, 2010, 09:12 AM
Not it isn't , sorry for the suggestion. :(

Thank you for the suggestion. It doesn't suit me, but may be it does for someone else ;)

huggy77
March 28th, 2010, 01:55 PM
thanks guys.... looks good...

huggy77
March 28th, 2010, 02:12 PM
will nethogs give me a breakdown by url?

inphektion
March 28th, 2010, 03:54 PM
will nethogs give me a breakdown by url?

awstats probably can.
on the lines of cacti, munin will give you a nice graph of server processes, bandwith, cpu, mem etc. awstats and webalizer are more towards your orig question though, I like awstats better, gives you more breakdowns.

n0dix
March 28th, 2010, 04:08 PM
will nethogs give me a breakdown by url?

Is to use to see the bandwidth of each instance of browser and not by url.

dudumomo
March 28th, 2010, 10:25 PM
What about ntop ?

Edit:
Oh, rrdtools sounds nice !
I will try this one as soon as I found how to do so xD