PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu 10.04 goes straight to terminal............?

beerock
March 21st, 2010, 11:14 PM
Hello,

I usually get pretty lucky searching these forums but this time im lost.... I just upgraded from 9.10 to 10.04 and on the first boot after prompted restart the system opens a terminal.... i am very new to all of this so do not know what it wants me to type. I did try exit and it went to the new purple desktop with login options for me or guest,.. logged in by entering my password and straight back to terminal. Please help! I was excited now i am worried....lol

Thanks in advance..

beerock
March 22nd, 2010, 01:54 AM
does anyone have any idea what went wrong? or what i should do now?

fremantle
March 22nd, 2010, 02:03 AM
YESS!!! thats exactly what happened to me with alpha 3. it booted up normally and logged in for first 2-3 boots but on the 4th boot it went straight to the terminal on boot screen. first it asks for my username and password and then just goes terminal. i dont know any commad to get into my session....stuck......had to go back to 9.10 again...anyone have a solution for us?

beerock
March 22nd, 2010, 02:17 AM
YESS!!! thats exactly what happened to me with alpha 3. it booted up normally and logged in for first 2-3 boots but on the 4th boot it went straight to the terminal on boot screen. first it asks for my username and password and then just goes terminal. i dont know any commad to get into my session....stuck......had to go back to 9.10 again...anyone have a solution for us?

so u lost wht you had before the upgrade and just reloaded karmic?

vayira
March 22nd, 2010, 02:21 AM
10.04 is still in beta isn't it?

Here http://www.ubuntu.com/testing/lucid/beta1

It says
Reporting bugs