PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Using a web server with sub domains

ronhagley
March 12th, 2010, 02:55 PM
hi all, I'm new to Ubuntu so finding some things tough. I've tried to set up an old laptop with Ubuntu server - need to use it as a web server for a group of students on a local network only.
I managed to get it working fine for just one user publishing webpages etc to a folder called VAR/WWW I could FTP files into the folder and access them again via FTP or a browser.
I then decided to create some subaccounts (one for each student)
I did this by typnig the following commands:
Sudo usermod -g www-data student1
Sudo chown -R www-data:www-data /var/www/student1
Sudo chmod -R 775 /var/www/student1

(In this example student1 is intended to be a subfolder of www and act like a sub-domain with write authority- at least that was my intention)

Problem I then get is that if I use Filezilla to access each account I cannot see where to publish the files - wherevever I place them they are not accessible from the browser.

Do any of you experts out there know the answer to my problems please.

Ryan Dwyer
March 12th, 2010, 03:16 PM
You need to configure Apache to use student1 as a subdomain. Otherwise it's just a folder in the main site. Also, I wouldn't put subdomains underneath the main domain like that because users could browse to it through the main domain.

To set up the subdomain, you need to:
# copy the existing vhost file
cd /etc/apache2/sites-available/
sudo cp default student1
# edit the file and change the configuration (set ServerName = student1.whatever, as well as DocumentRoot to the student1 folder)
sudo nano student1
# enable the site
sudo a2ensite student1
# restart Apache
sudo /etc/init.d/apache2 restart

You'll also need to add an entry to your local DNS server so the clients will resolve student1.hostname to the correct address.