PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Connecting to a switch: network is unreachable

AnthonyA
March 10th, 2010, 12:19 AM
Hello everyone!

First, a little background on what I am trying to do. I am a newbie to ubuntu and a bit of a newbie to client/server networking. I installed a copy of Ubuntu Server 8.04 with the latest release of EBox Platform on my HP laptop to mess around with. I am hoping to get it working as an authentication and file server for a couple of computers in the future.

I am having some trouble with connecting to my network. Basically, I have my Ubuntu Server plugged into a switch via ethernet cable. I also have a computer running Windows XP Home plugged into the switch. I'm just trying to get them to ping, nothing fancy yet (I'm just playing around, as I said).

I have tried setting up a static IP using the universal instructions concerning /etc/network/interfaces (adding in auto eth0 with all the parameters to make it static). I also set up a static IP with my Windows XP computer. I'm doing this because I can't use DHCP with the switch.

So, with these static IP settings configured, I try to ping the XP computer. I get the error "connect: network is unreachable" I also get an error when I try to ping the Ubuntu server from the XP machine. Neither one seems to be able to communicate.

I have ruled out the switch as the problem because I connected two XP machines with static IP addresses and they could ping just fine. Also, I connected the XP machine to a router and the Ubuntu server to a router. I configured DHCP on both (again, in the /etc/network/interfaces) and they could ping and talk just fine.

I'm just at a loss. They seem to be connected fine and I can't get them to ping. Like I said, I am a definite newbie to Ubuntu, and I'm just starting to learn client server networking. Also, I'm very new to command prompt and terminal, but I'm learning. Any help that anyone could provide with this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much!