PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Port 22 Connection refused

Ian McDonagh
March 9th, 2010, 05:25 AM
Setup
new build running Umbutu 9.10
Mac Running 10.5.8

First off I'm a total noob to Linux systems and I have tried googling everything I can think of to resolve this issue found many people getting similar issues but no one with the exact symptoms and all the suggested fixes thus far have failed.

I am trying to set up ssh server on Umbutu and I believe I have successfully started it with the ((sudo apt-get install ssh)) command. No I'm trying to log onto my Umbutu box from my mac and I constantly get the error
ssh: connect to host XX.XX.XXX.XX (not the 127.0.0.1) port 22: connection refused
When I try and run the same thing from Umbutu it just jumps to the next line like I hit enter on an empty line.

I have made sure ssh is installed and running on the umbutu system several times and I have the remote login checked on my mac.
I am at a total loss at this point PLEASE someone help I have been at this two nights straight and have made very little headway.

Thanks in advance.

lindsay7
March 9th, 2010, 05:29 AM
maybe this will help. I just set up three computers to share files.

http://my.opera.com/ubuntunerd1/blog/share-files-between-two-ubuntu-computers-via-ssh

wirelessmonkey
March 9th, 2010, 05:37 AM
apt-get update
apt-get install openssh-server

Ian McDonagh
March 9th, 2010, 07:30 PM
I've already ran the install comands I will try the guide and I'll run the install comands again to confirm

BobVila
March 9th, 2010, 09:05 PM
I've already ran the install comands I will try the guide and I'll run the install comands again to confirm

i think wirelessmonkey was suggesting those particular commands to make sure you installed the ssh SERVER, because your initial post said you entered 'sudo apt-get install ssh'...

joberly
March 9th, 2010, 09:32 PM
Check to make sure sshd is running:

ps aux | grep sshd

Also check to make sure it's listening on the port you want: