PDA

View Full Version : New System Debug Help

sfuse
March 8th, 2010, 10:17 PM
Just finished building and installing mythbuntu on new box. I am new to mythbuntu and HTPC hardware but not linux. I have been experiencing some problems, some of which I think I have fixed thanks to google but now need some direction on a couple of problems.

I have one dedicated frontend/backend system.
I have a Hauppauge HVR-2250 and after installing the drivers this seems to be working correctly.
I have an NVIDIA video card using VDPAU.
The rest is generic hardware, and I am using onboard audio.

I have experienced some lockups and would like to know how best to debug the problem(s). At first these were only frontend lockups but after tweaking some settings I haven't had any of these for a while. But now they have become hard system lockups, no SSH access, no access via keyboard. I don't really know how to debug this, the myth logs seem to be filled with all sorts of information and I am not sure what to look for. Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

One other annoyance is that once a lockup occurs and I reset the machine I can't access tuner card from the frontend. I have to restart the backend before it will work so it would seem this would occur anytime the backend isn't shutdown properly. Does anyone have a script or method to correct this annoyance?

Any help would with these problems would be greatly appreciated.

sfuse
March 9th, 2010, 07:03 PM
After thinking about the lockups some more I decided to shutdown the frontend last night and left the backend running with one scheduled recording. While that was running I mounted an nfs directory and copied my mp3 collection over to the new box. I also installed MPD and let the box play music all night. The box ran all night without locking up.

I never experienced any system lockups until this morning.