PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] COMPLETELY new to ubuntu. Could someone help me configure boot.ini?

mikeeey
March 7th, 2010, 09:28 PM
Hello everyone, I hate ask for answers like this, searching did me no good if I couldn't understand what anything even meant.

I'm completely new to ubuntu, and completely new to dual booting.

Here's where I'm at so far:

Last night I started to free up a 10GB portion.. I was very tired but excited to try out ubuntu. Well.. I got the portion free, but next thing you know I'm asleep :redface:

so I started where I left off this morning, I installed Ubuntu 9.10 to that free portion, then at the end of the setup it asked me to remove the CD and close the tray so it could restart. When it restarted it booted right back into windows XP, and this is where I'm stuck.

I'm unsure how to add ubuntu to boot.ini, I'm unsure what gnome or grub or grub2 is. I'm just trying to figure out how to boot into ubuntu lol.

If anyone could help me with this I'd really appreciete it.

Thanks!

edit: if it helps, here's what my boot.ini looks like. I'm just confused why it wasn't automatically added when I installed ubuntu to the other partition:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn

nothingspecial
March 7th, 2010, 09:52 PM
Are you sure you installed Ubuntu.

Boot up the live cd, in the menu, go, applications > accessories > terminal and type
sudo fdisk -l

Then copy and paste the output to a new post here.

skymera
March 7th, 2010, 10:02 PM
Do you have more than one hard drive?

I'm thinking that GRUB is installed to the primary drive, whilst Ubuntu is on another, though this doesn't really explain why GRUB doesn't load and XP just boots.

+1 to answer above.

Method X
March 7th, 2010, 10:06 PM
Ok.
Boot.ini can't take you into ubuntu, because Windows system doesn't support other OS.