View Full Version : [ubuntu] Server 9.10 Desktop versus Desktop 9.10

March 4th, 2010, 04:52 PM
I already posted a problem I am having with my server accepting 9.10 server. But I am loading 9.10 desktop per an article I ran accross on the net. Is there going to be any significant difference, or lack of performance in desktop versus only using server?

May sound like a stupid question. but I am new to working on servers

March 4th, 2010, 05:22 PM
The answer to your question depends on two things: the hardware configuration of the machine in question, and what you want to do with it.

March 4th, 2010, 07:22 PM
It is a Dell Poweredge 2550 Server.... I am setting up a RAID array for RAID 5 as we speak.... I am going to use this machine as a server for doing Multi-Hard Drive Wipes (up to 30 drives) to D.O.D specs. as well as networking with another 2 servers so that I can have one setup as my Lab Server (the one now with Desktop 9.10), and the other one where I can interface with my primary server (via cross over cable as it is mounted in a rack directly above it) all with network access to my company server, as well as remote access to the network from my home. I don't know much on how to set these things up, by I am moving very slowly forward...;)
Again any help at this point is much appreciated

March 4th, 2010, 09:33 PM
Then you'll probably be bound by I/O rather than by CPU and RAM, so you should be able to run a GUI with minimal impact on performance. Alqso remember that if you install a GUI and feel it's hurting performance, you can remove it without reinstalling the whole system, so it won't really hurt to try.

March 4th, 2010, 10:07 PM
Any advice on what kind of apps to use, or how to set something like this up....?

As I said I am a server virgin as it were... The SCSI interfaces I can take care of for the Multi-Drive units but it's the server to server, and communication between computers that I am not sure on how to pursue.