PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Desktop damaged, how to restore?



klaasvg
March 3rd, 2010, 10:40 AM
Hello,
I am a confident Karmic user, but experienced a little with different desktop themes. Now I have a few problems. First, the context menu from the upper menu bar is damaged, it showls only the items "Help" and "About panels". But no option to add or remove applets, which worked normally before.
Second, the context menu from the pulldown menu is also damaged, before I was able to use the context menu to add a ahortcut to the desktop. Now, using the right button, the application is launched, just as if I use the left button.
Anyway knows what has happened? And how to fix/reinstall this functionality?
TIA, Klaas

Barriehie
March 7th, 2010, 06:36 AM
Try reinstalling gnome-panel.

c0nfusedami
March 7th, 2010, 06:38 AM
How would one go about reinstalling that program?

Barriehie
March 7th, 2010, 06:46 AM
How would one go about reinstalling that program?

Either the GUI, synaptic, or from the terminal:


sudo aptitude reinstall gnome-panel
...it will reinstall the package...


exit


Unless versed in the use of the terminal you might should use the GUI, System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager. Search, gnome-panel, right mouse, reinstall, apply, done. Logout, and then back in.

HTH

c0nfusedami
March 9th, 2010, 02:51 AM
Thank you

Barriehie
March 9th, 2010, 02:56 AM
Thank you
Your welcome, so that worked out for you?

klaasvg
March 9th, 2010, 08:45 AM
For me it didn't (tried it before), but I fixed in another way. I discovered I messed up Gnome anel settings by installing a Windows-like theme and used its uninstall function to remove it again. By resetting the Panel settings the normal functionality returned:
gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/panel (reset the settings to default)
pkill gnome-panel (kill and rstart panels)

Barriehie
March 9th, 2010, 10:38 PM
Is this solved?

dadgetboy
March 9th, 2010, 10:43 PM
To completely reset Gnome

Press Ctrl+Alt+F1

Type in:


sudo rm -rf .gnome .gnome2 .gconf .gconfd .metacity
sudo reboot


That is all, Gnome has been reset to original, out of the box settings.

klaasvg
March 9th, 2010, 11:02 PM
Is this solved?

Yes for me it is!

Barriehie
March 10th, 2010, 12:21 AM
Yes for me it is!

Perhaps mark the thread as solved for the searching crowd! 8)