View Full Version : [SOLVED] Postfix Problem - Can't Receive External Mail

February 28th, 2010, 02:57 AM
Hello Forum Folks,

I recently installed postfix onto my ubuntu 9.10 server. I can send mail from the command line (using mail). My problem is that I cannot receive mail from the external internet. If I send mail from testuser01 (testuser01@mydomain.com) to say john@yahoo.com, John gets the mail. But. if he tries to reply or send new mail to testuser01@mydomain.com, he receives the following error:

xxx.xx.xxx.xxx does not like recipient
Remote host said: 550 #5.1.0 Address rejected testuser01@mydomain.com Giving up on xxx.xx.xxx.xx

NOTE (xxx.xx.xxx.xx is the domain ip address. I substituted xxx.xx.xxx.xx for the real ip address given in the error message).

I appreciate any help or troubleshooting suggestions. This is my first time at trying to setup postfix.

February 28th, 2010, 05:05 AM
For mail to work, you must have A, MX and PTR records in your DNS. Use 'dig' and verify that before doing anything else.

February 28th, 2010, 06:46 AM
Hello Herman,

Thanks for looking at my question. Below is the output from the dig command:

; <<>> DiG 9.6.1-P2 <<>> k7qhu.com ANY
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 19538
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 5, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;k7qhu.com. IN ANY

k7qhu.com. 2614 IN MX 10 mailstore1.secureserver.net.
k7qhu.com. 2614 IN MX 0 smtp.secureserver.net.
k7qhu.com. 2058 IN A
k7qhu.com. 2058 IN NS ns61.domaincontrol.com.
k7qhu.com. 2058 IN NS ns62.domaincontrol.com.

;; Query time: 50 msec
;; WHEN: Sat Feb 27 22:33:53 2010
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 159

March 1st, 2010, 06:14 AM
Hello Again,

Here is some additional information that might help in solving this problem. I noticed that the error is from the mail server that I used to send the mail, not the destination server (k7qhu.com). Below is the message: Does not like the recipient