PDA

View Full Version : How do I convert to Ubuntu CE using command-line

Deer Hunter
February 23rd, 2010, 10:22 PM
I found out about this while trying to figure out how to run e-Sword on my Ubuntu 9.10 partition (I'm dual-booting with XP). Anyway, I found the home website, and looked at this page (http://ubuntuce.com/convert.htm) that shows how to convert from standard Ubuntu to Ubuntu CE. So, I open a terminal, copy and paste the command displayed on above-mentioned page, and hit enter.

Here's where I can't figure out what to do next. A little line of script comes up that says "[sudo] password for davis-goertzen: (blinking cursor)" Now, I would have thought that my next step would be to type in my password I made when installing Ubuntu; but it won't let me type anything, or copy and paste my password in. What am I doing wrong?

BTW, I should mention that I'm extremely new to Ubuntu, and have ZERO experience trying to run things on the command line. I'm used to a GUI, like Windows.

Anyway, if you guys could tell me how to manage the command-line, that'd be great. Thanks.

Deer Hunter

Deer Hunter
February 23rd, 2010, 11:06 PM
UPDATE: After some hunting around I realized that the keystrokes just aren't displayed in the terminal, so that's okay.

BUT, when I run the command, this comes up:
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
ubuntu-ce: Depends: wine-christian-repos but it is not going to be installed
E: Broken packages

How do I deal with that? I thought I needed Wine to run E-Sword, as well as any other Windows-based programs I want to keep using.

Deer Hunter

stlsaint
February 24th, 2010, 12:27 AM
will it let you continue the install or does it just error out?

Deer Hunter
February 24th, 2010, 12:41 AM
I beg pardon, I made a mistake in the second post. After what I said it displays, it says this:

davis-goertzen@davis-goertzen-laptop:~$