PDA

View Full Version : de facto language for linux application development

kolaperumal
February 22nd, 2010, 05:57 PM
I have been browsing this forum for the past few days in search for the ultimate programing language for linux application development.I am not an expert in programming but i can understand the language of the geeks in the forum lol!

Coming back to the subject, there is no such defacto language for linux apps development.While many users suggest using python , i feel it cannot be used for performance intensive apps ...still many will suggest to optimize the code by using extension modules developed in C.

About C++, performance wise it is better than python but there are not many libraries like the ones developed for java.Even if one exists they are just scattered as projects around the internet which makes life difficult for an average programmer like me to produce some good apps.

Turning our attention to Java,just look at the size of the class libraries they have ....they are really good for developing server side apps and not cute looking GUI apps.Now some would say SWING is really cool but I personally dislike SWING as it takes time to load and the performance of the components make me to think ..Why did i develop my GUI in SWING..

I have discussed all prominent languages i guess,the point is we dont have single unified language IDE ,libraries ,adding new modules offering best performance (Execution speed)..like MS visual studio which provides all in one environment for windows app development.Unless we give a serious thinking in this direction we are not going to have newer breed of young , inexperienced yet creative programmers jumping to Linux world for developing Applications.

Pls note all the above text are my personal opinion and I want your views too..Do correct me if I am wrong and I am interested in learning things!:)

CptPicard
February 22nd, 2010, 06:08 PM