PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Sharing over 2 networks

gtcardwhere
February 20th, 2010, 02:13 AM
Hi guys, I am new to linux and I just installed linux on an older unused computer. I want to use this computer as a fileserver. I have a Dell PERC/5 in this, running a raid 5 array that is currently storing everything. I want to make the contents of this array available to my network, however I am not sure if what I want to do is possible.

My current wifi network has 3 main computers, the linux mint desktop, a windows 7 box, a windows xp laptop, plus miscellaneous devices like smartphones and PDAs. My windows 7 box is my primary computer.

This is what I am trying to do:

1. I want to connect my windows 7 desktop to my linux desktop via gigabit ethernet crossover cable. I want these 2 computers to have a wide bandwidth link because I want high-speed access to the raid array inside the linux box. I need to have write permission for my windows 7 box--I want to be able to use the array as if it were a "local" disk.

2. Both my windows 7 and my linux computer also have wireless NICs, and are connected to my home's wireless network. I want the raid array to be available to my wireless network as well. However, I do not want any devices connecting to the array via wifi to have write access, only read.

Basically, I want my main Windows 7 computer to be able to use the raid array inside my linux box as if it were a locally stored hard drive, through the direct computer to computer gigabit ethernet connection. I also want the array to be accessible wirelessly to all my other devices, but I do not want any wireless device to change the contents of the array. Therefore, both my windows computer and my linux computer will be on 2 networks, the wifi network, as well as a private LAN with just the 2 computers. Is this scenario possible to setup with Ubuntu?

gtcardwhere
February 20th, 2010, 07:23 PM