PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How I got ndiswrapper working for 14e4:4315 (Broadcom bcm4312 rev 01)

leorolla
February 18th, 2010, 08:42 PM
I am not an expert, this topic is from my experience. I see other users who also suffer lack of wireless, so I decided to create this topic.

So....

I had STA Broadcom proprietary driver automatically installed and working fine for months.

Recently it was broken with a log message just like http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1369975. It was broken without any action from me. Jockey would simply produce that error.

(A side comment: after many releases running out-of-the box with Jockey and a proprietary driver, we had the unfortunate regression that it only works for Karmic after the first update/upgrade, using wired network of course.)

I tried blacklisting this and that, I purged and reinstalled bcmwl-kernel-source, didn't work.

I tried a chip of the instructions from your famous thread to install the b43 driver and linux-backports, didn't work.

I tried madwifi following AspireOne/Ubuntu8.04 - Community Ubuntu Documentation (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AspireOne/Ubuntu8.04), didn't work.

Then I had the idea of just using ndiswrapper.

I believe this should last stable until Lucid release, much more probably than any other solution subject to Ubuntu-update regressions.

----------------------------

1. Install ndisgtk

2. Download the Windows driver from Acer at http://global-download.acer.com/GDFiles/Driver/Wireless%20LAN/WLAN_Broadcom_4.170.75.0_XPx86.zip?acerid=63370116 4785992813&Step1=Netbook&Step2=Aspire%20One&Step3=AOD150&OS=X01&LC=en&BC=Acer&SC=PA_7

3. Extract the zip file to a folder.

4. Open Windows Wireless Drivers (or run "sudo ndisgtk").

5. Click on "Install new Driver", open the folder and choose the file bcmwl5.inf (it may give an error messge, but may work anyway).

6. Check at the files inside /etc/modprobe.d that other wireless drivers are neither loaded nor blacklisted.