PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Snort - empty logs - iptables problem?

jacksmash
February 15th, 2010, 11:15 PM
I installed Snort (without Base), and I followed the instructions and compiled from source, etc. It seems to run just fine, but is not logging anything. So I figure it's an iptables configuration problem on my part, but I'm not really sure where to start.

I made a passive tap, and two network cards are seeing the in/out traffic. I used a virtual interface to bond the two, and I'm collecting data with SiLK over port 18001, and so I opened that port in iptables and the collection process is working fine (with SiLK). I'm just new to Snort and not sure what I need to do so it can log alerts properly.

Thanks for any insight.

bodhi.zazen
February 15th, 2010, 11:27 PM
Snort does not log all traffic, only suspicious traffic according to the rule set you are using.

There well may be no alerts. You can hit snort with something and see what happens.

http://www.google.com/search?q=how+to+test+snort&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

jacksmash
February 15th, 2010, 11:34 PM
Hi,

Yeah - I've actually ran a couple of port scans... but no luck.

$ sudo ls -l /var/log/snort/
total 0
-rw------- 1 snort snort 0 2010-02-15 13:44 snort.log.1266255870
-rw------- 1 snort snort 0 2010-02-15 17:52 snort.log.1266270758

bodhi.zazen
February 15th, 2010, 11:58 PM
Port scans alone will not necessarily trigger an alert in snort.

See the google search I gave you ;)

jacksmash
February 16th, 2010, 02:04 AM
Ok, thanks. I'll check out the links.

In the meantime, I thought I'd post my iptables output in case I'm missing something.

I'll report on how I make out with your suggestion.

Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination
ACCEPT tcp -- localhost anywhere tcp dpt:18001

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)

jacksmash
February 16th, 2010, 02:21 AM
Ok, so I followed the instructions here: