PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't install...anything?

RevStHuck
February 14th, 2010, 11:12 PM
Okay, complete and total noob here. I've been trying to figure this out to the best of my ability but I'm simple I suppose 'cause it just ain't happening.

I'm trying to install a new version of Firefox and/or Opera on Ubuntu and it isn't working. I download Opera and click "Open with GDebi package installer" and get an error message: "Dependency is not satisfiable: libqt3-mt"

So what am I doing wrong and what do I need to do to fix it? And please, explain in simple terms I'm afraid I really am terribly new to this OS. We all got to start sometime, right? Thank you.

Satoru-san
February 14th, 2010, 11:19 PM
This tends to happen when you try to install something that is not in the repository.

Here is how to fix that. Look at the name of the missing dependancy, and either search for it in synaptic, or even easier, open up a terminal it is in your applications menu. and type this

sudo apt-get install libqt3-mt
It will prompt you to enter your user password, and will install the program, then try to install opera agian.

phillw
February 14th, 2010, 11:23 PM
Okay, complete and total noob here. I've been trying to figure this out to the best of my ability but I'm simple I suppose 'cause it just ain't happening.

I'm trying to install a new version of Firefox and/or Opera on Ubuntu and it isn't working. I download Opera and click "Open with GDebi package installer" and get an error message: "Dependency is not satisfiable: libqt3-mt"

So what am I doing wrong and what do I need to do to fix it? And please, explain in simple terms I'm afraid I really am terribly new to this OS. We all got to start sometime, right? Thank you.

Hi and welcome,

Indeed we do !! When you say 'new' version of FireFox, how new ? There is Namoroka (the code name for FireFox 3.6) I'm not 100% sure if it is a final release yet.