PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] desktop icons missing and broken file manager

greggy.gregory
February 13th, 2010, 05:04 PM
i am pretty new to linux and have only been using it for a couple weeks now. i installed Picasa from google just now and since then my desktop icons have disapeared and if i open the file manager it closes within 5 seconds. i have tried rebooting the computer and have now completly removed picasa and the problem is still there.
any ideas what the problem might be and how i can fix it?

oldos2er
February 13th, 2010, 05:43 PM
Which version of Ubuntu are you using? Can you open a terminal, (Applications, Accessories, Terminal), type in nautilus, and post the output here?

amsterdamharu
February 13th, 2010, 05:53 PM
Did you install picasa form synaptic package manager? If so you should report the bug because that sounds like it has done some serous damage.

Can you create a new user and log in as that new user to see if this user has the same problems? If the new user doesn't have the same problems you might consider deleting settings files in your homedir (my guess .nautilus with rm -R .nautilus).

greggy.gregory
February 13th, 2010, 06:07 PM
Which version of Ubuntu are you using? Can you open a terminal, (Applications, Accessories, Terminal), type in nautilus, and post the output here?

i am using ubuntu 9.10, i will post the terminal output once i reboot back into ubuntu. im in win 7 now cause i got fed up with it not working

greggy.gregory
February 13th, 2010, 06:09 PM
Did you install picasa form synaptic package manager? If so you should report the bug because that sounds like it has done some serous damage.

Can you create a new user and log in as that new user to see if this user has the same problems? If the new user doesn't have the same problems you might consider deleting settings files in your homedir (my guess .nautilus with rm -R .nautilus).